Aidan Maloney Young Professionals Award

Related Pages
Photo Albums

Northwest Rotary Aidan Maloney Young Professionals Award 

In 2010, the Northwest Rotary Aidan Maloney Young Professionals Award was created to recognize up to two young professionals annually who have positively impacted their chosen vocations and communities.  This award demonstrates Rotary’s commitment towards developing young professionals and profiles the work of Rotary, while proudly honoring a St. John’s Northwest Rotarian, former Rotary District Governor Aidan Maloney.


Jessica Fisher and Melissa Royle 2019 Award Recipients



L-R: Peter Whittle (Aidan's Grandson), Jessica Fisher, Melissa Royle, and Kerry Hatfield (Rotary Club President)

About our 2018 Award Recipients:


Jessica Fisher
Jessica Fisher is Corporate Communications Advisor for Fortis Inc. She is a dedicated volunteer.  She coaches the Fieldians Academy U-21 ladies soccer team, a team she has been committed to for 7 years.   She is a Director on the Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Newfoundland’s Board of Directors and an active volunteer with both the Health Care Foundation and the Dr. H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Care Foundation.  She also regularly leads charitable initiatives both at work and in the community.
Melissa Royle
Melissa Royle is a lawyer with Benson Buffett PLC. Melissa presents regularly on a volunteer basis to many community organizations and to the public on various legal topics. As a host and producer of “Out of the Fog” on Rogers TV, Melissa profiles matters of local importance and promotes community initiatives. She volunteers as Chair of the NL Chapter of Equal Voice, an organization that promotes the election of more women, and as an Aide-de-Camp to the Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador. A passionate advocate for civic engagement, Melissa often volunteers to host, moderate, or present at events for community organizations and to promote political involvement. 
Mr. Aidan Maloney
Aidan Maloney has been a member of the Rotary Club of St. John’s Northwest since 1970 and has served as Club President (1979-1980), District Governor (1987-1988) and is a Paul Harris fellow (1988). Over his lifetime, he has positively impacted the Newfoundland and Labrador community at an exemplary level within and beyond the Rotary family. Mr. Maloney is a member of the Order of Canada, holds an honorary doctorate from Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador (MUN); is a recipient of the Lieutenant Governor’s Newfoundland and Labrador Volunteer Award and the Red Cross Humanitarian of the Year Award; is a former Provincial Minister for the Department of Fisheries; and was Honorary Counsel to Japan. He has been involved in numerous boards and volunteer organizations over the years, including former Chairman of the Board for St. Clare’s Hospital, and board member for the Newfoundland Quarterly Foundation and Railway Coastal Museum. In addition, he has personally funded scholarships focusing on musical excellence and enjoys singing in the Mary Queen of Peace Church Choir. Above all, Mr. Maloney has accomplished this life of community service with grace, humility and cooperation; setting a solid example for young professionals.
Click here to watch a video of past recipients describing how the impact of receiving an award named after Aidan Maloney has motivated them to do even more in their community. 
Click here to watch a video of past recipients and learn what receiving this award has meant to them.

Past Award Recipients:

2018 Presentation: (L-R) Josh Smee, award recipient, Andrea Brocklehurst, Rotary President, Maureen Murphy, Aidan Maloney's daughter and Nikki Carew, award recipient
2017 Presentation: (L-R) Greg Smith, award recipient, Maureen Murphy, Aidan Maloney's daughter and Susan Collins, award recipient
2016 Presentation: (L-R) Dana Parsons, award recipient, Maureen Murphy, Aidan Maloney's daughter and Mandy Woodland, award recipient
2015 Presentation: (L-R) Beth McGrath, award recipient, Maureen Murphy, Aidan Maloney's daughter and Chris Dunne, award recipient
2014 Presentation: (L-R) Don-E Coady, award recipient, Aidan Maloney and Andrew Wadden, award recipient
2013 Presentation: (L-R) Aidan Maloney, Holly Foley, award recipient, Geoff Eaton, award recipient










2012 Presentation: (L-R) Peter Benoite, award recipient, Aidan Maloney, Amanda Burton, award recipient











2011 Presentation: (L-R) Aidan Maloney, Past District Governor; Jamie Roche, award recipient; Dr. Andrew Furey, award recipient; Carman Carroll, President











2010 Presentation: (L-R) John Andrews, Vocational Service Director; Andrea Stack, Club President; Holly White,  award recipient; Aidan Maloney, Past District Governor; Raelene Lee, award recipient; Sandi Patterson, Chair of Vocational Service Award.